"Baby, Sleep" lands after last month's "Child Of The Flatlands" track, and vocalist Paul Smith describes the song as "a light-hearted look at the surreal nature of sleep-deprivation, and the way it distorts normality in a capitalist society."

Nature Always Wins will be Maxïmo Park's first LP in three years after 2017's Risk To Exist.

Smith, guitarist Duncan Lloyd and drummer Tom English recruited Atlanta producer Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Deerhunter) as their temporary fourth member for Nature Always Wins, and ended up finishing the LP virtually from two different continents due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Discussing the album, Smith says, "I'm so happy we were able to make this album during lockdown, as it's been a challenging time for everyone. After almost four years since Risk To Exist, we wanted to explore new musical territory (for us) without sacrificing our trademark melodic twists and heartfelt lyrics. As always, the passing of time looms large, although the songs contain more affection for the past than before, and there are occasional hints of the fractious, divided time that we live in."


  1. Partly Of My Making
  2. Versions Of You
  3. Baby, Sleep
  4. Placeholder
  5. All Of Me
  6. Ardour (featuring Pauline Murray)
  7. Meeting Up
  8. Why Must A Building Burn
  9. I Don't Know What I'm Doing
  10. The Acid Remark
  11. Feelings I'm Supposed To Feel
  12. Child Of The Flatlands
"Baby, Sleep" is out now. Maxïmo Park's Nature Always Wins album will land via Prolifica Inc on 26 February 2021, and is available to pre-order now. They're due to play London's EartH on 9 June 2021. Tickets go on general sale from 9am BST on 23 October.