Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Matt berninger b and w

Matt Berninger releases new single "One More Second"

10 September 2020, 10:04 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Matt Berninger has released new track "One More Second" as the third preview of his debut solo album Serpentine Prison.

"One More Second" follows on from July's "Distant Axis" and May's lead single and title-track "Serpentine Prison".

Berninger says of the new release, "I wrote "One More Second" with Matt Sheehy (Lost Lander, EL VY) with the intention for it to be a kind of answer to Dolly Parton’s "I Will Always Love You", or sort of the other side of that conversation. I just wanted to write one of those classic, simple, desperate love songs that sound great in your car."

Serpentine Prison also includes contributions from Matt Barrick (The Walkmen), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut), Sean O'Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), and Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander).

Berninger's solo LP is produced by Booker T. Jones.

"One More Second" is out now. Matt Berninger's Serpentine Prison album is due for release on 16 October via his new imprint with Booker T. Jones, Book Records, in conjunction with Concord Records.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next