The upcoming film is directed by M83's frontman's brother Yann Gonzalez, and was premiered at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival.

"Karl" is lead track to be shared from the Knife + Heart soundtrack, and marks the first taste of the first M83 record where frontman Anthony Gonzalez has reunited with Nicolas Fromageau. They last worked together on M83's 2001 self-titled debut record, and 2003's Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts.

On the inspiration behind the soundtrack, director Yann Gonzalez says, "We wanted to recapture the Gialli ambiance of the 70s, to feel that sinister yet sentimental tone. Anthony and I are both poetical and even sentimental, in a certain way. We wanted to dive in headlong, particularly as melancholy and poetry are found in numerous 70s horror film soundtracks, from films by Lucio Fulci to those by Mario Bava. I’m thinking in particular of the harrowing soundtracks of Don’t Torture a Duckling or Twitch of the Death Nerve."

Knife + Heart is M83's first new music since 2016's Junk.


  1. Thrash Me (by Malaria!)
  2. Corridor
  3. Karl
  4. Mercedes (by La Maison)
  5. Vision 1
  6. La Flicaille
  7. Filature
  8. Malaguena (by Pico)
  9. Vision 2
  10. Tu M’as Tuée
  11. Sauna
  12. Voyance
  13. Un Couteau Dans Le Coeur
  14. Sombre Vision
  15. Pyramides
  16. Lettre Lois
  17. Detective Rachid
  18. La Caverne
  19. Le Tueur Homo
  20. Sauna Cheap Version
  21. De Sperme et d’eau Fraiche
  22. Hicham
  23. Cinéma Kill
  24. Vision Finale
  25. Love’s Refrain (by Jefre Cantu-Ledesma)
  26. Un Couteau Dans Le Coeur – Reprise
  27. End Credits
"Karl" is out now. The soundtrack for Knife + Heart is released tomorrow (8 March) via Mute. The film will be screened at select US cinemas this Spring, kicking off in New York next week.