Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
London grammar californian soil

London Grammar announce third album with title-track "Californian Soil"

02 October 2020, 10:02 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

London Grammar have announced their third album Californian Soil on top of unveiling the title-track as the lead single.

After making their comeback last month with "Baby It's You", London Grammar have returned to announce their third album Californian Soil.

News of Californian Soil arrives alongside the lead single and title-track "Californian Soil", which is accompanied by a dreamy visual directed by Silent Tapes.

Californian Soil will be London Grammar's first album since 2017's Truth is a Beautiful Thing.

Vocalist Hannah Reid says, "Misogyny is primitive, which is why it is so hard to change. But it is also fearful. It’s about rejecting the thing in yourself which is vulnerable or feminine. Yet everybody has that thing."

Reid adds, "This record is about gaining possession of my own life. You imagine success will be amazing. Then you see it from the inside and ask, why am I not controlling this thing? Why am I not allowed to be in control of it? And does that connect, in any way to being a woman? If so, how can I do that differently?"


  1. Intro
  2. Californian Soil
  3. Missing
  4. Lose Your Head
  5. Lord It’s A Feeling
  6. How Does It Feel
  7. Baby It’s You
  8. Call Your Friends
  9. All My Love
  10. Talking
  11. I Need The Night
  12. America
"Californian Soil" is out now. London Grammar's album of the same name will be released 12 February 2021 via Ministry Of Sound, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next