Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Kind gizzard2

King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard releasing their third album of 2017 next week

18 August 2017, 11:58 | Written by Laurence Day

Prolific experimenters King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard have announced Sketches Of Brunswick East, their third record of 2017.

This latest LP is a collaboration with LA troupe Mild High Club and sees King G well on their way to making good on their promise to drop five full-length records before the end of the year. They've already released high-concept albums Murder Of The Universe and Flying Microtonal Banana over the past few months.

Sketches Of Brunswick East named in part after East Brunswick, Melbourne, where the Aussie group's Flightless HQ is based and the long-player was recorded, and Miles Davis' Sketches Of Spain record.

"We were listening to compilations of Ethiopian music form the 1960s and '70s a lot," explains the band's Stu Mackenzie. "It was in no way thought out though. If Murder Of The Universe was our most conceptual and arranged album - then Sketches... is the exact opposite."


  1. Sketches Of Brunswick East I
  2. Countdown
  3. D-Day
  4. Tezeta
  5. Cranes Planes Migraines
  6. The Spider And Me
  7. Sketches Of Brunswick East II
  8. Dawn To Dusk On Lygon Street
  9. The Book
  10. A Journey To (S)Hell
  11. Rolling Stoned
  12. You Can Be Your Silhouette
  13. Sketches Of Brunswick East III
Sketches Of Brunswick East is out 25 August via Heavenly.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next