Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
KELE okereke

Kele Okereke debuts new track in trailer for Leave to Remain theatre show

11 January 2019, 14:41 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The official trailer for theatre production Leave To Remain debuts "The Sea Between Us", a new offering from Kele Okereke's soundtrack for the show.

Set to open this month at Lyric Hammersmith, Leave To Remain is a play based on a gay couple's relationship and the fractures caused in both families.

Today a new track, "The Sea Between Us", has appeared on the official trailer for the production.

Kele Okereke and Matt Jones are behind the soundtrack for the play. Robby Graham is directing the production, with Olivier Award-nominated actor Tyrone Huntley in the lead role of Obi.

In September 2018 they revealed the first taste of the soundtrack, "Not The Drugs Talking".

Explaining more about the soundtrack, Okereke says, "Leave to Remain is the story of what happens when a marriage forces two very different families to come together. For the music for this project I took cues from the records that my parents would play in our house when I was growing up, West African high-life music, and I tried to combine those sounds with the electronic dance music I hear in clubs today. It was important to me to make something that represented the meeting of two very different worlds.”

Lyric Hammersmith will welcome Leave To Remain to its stage from 18 January to 16 February 2019. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next