Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Jenny hval 2019

Jenny Hval announces new album with lead offering "Ashes To Ashes"

10 July 2019, 13:03 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Jenny Hval has returned with news of her seventh studio album The Practice of Love, alongside revealing the lead single "Ashes To Ashes".

"Ashes To Ashes" is Hval's first single since last year's The Long Sleep EP.

The Practice of Love is Hval's first album since 2016's Blood Bitch.

Speaking about the record's theme, Hval says, "This all sounds very clichéd, like a standard greeting card expression. But for me love, and the practice of love, has been deeply tied to the feeling of otherness. Love as a theme in art has been the domain of the canonized, big artists, and I have always seen myself as a minor character, a voice that speaks of other things. But in the last few years I have wanted to take a closer look at the practice of otherness, this fragile performance, and how it can express love, intimacy, empathy and desire. I have wanted to ask bigger, wider, kind of idiotic questions like: What is our job as a member of the human race? Do we have to accept this job, and if we don’t, does the pressure to be normal ever stop?"


  1. Lions (feat. Vivian Wang)
  2. High Alice
  3. Accident (feat. Laura Jean)
  4. The Practice of Love (feat. Laura Jean and Vivian Wang)
  5. Ashes To Ashes
  6. Thumbsucker (feat. Félicia Atkinson and Laura Jean)
  7. Six Red Cannas (feat. Vivian Wang, Félicia Atkinson and Laura Jean)
  8. Ordinary (feat. Vivian Wang and Félicia Atkinson)
"Ashes To Ashes" is out now. The Practice of Love will be released 13 September via Sacred Bones. Jenny Hval plays London's Milton Court on 29 September. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next