Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Hiss Golden Messenger Landmark Festival DC 09272015 Erika Reinsel 02

Hiss Golden Messenger shares two singles from upcoming album Hallelujah Anyhow

28 August 2017, 15:44 | Written by Laurence Day

Hiss Golden Messenger, aka M.C. Taylor, has dropped two new songs ahead of next month's Hallelujah Anyhow record.

"Domino (Time Will Tell)" and "When The Wall Comes Down" both tease Taylor's upcoming offering - the follow up to last October's Heart Like A Levee.

"I'm from nowhere," says Taylor in a statement shared alongside the album news. "That's the way I feel about it now, right at this moment. Music took me and made me and gave me a purpose and I built my world with it, and now my geography is a musical one, forever. And when I break, when I think about running as far as I can, I remember that there is nothing that does me like music, and I might as well be a poor man in a world of my own devising. Hallelujah anyhow."

"I see the dark clouds. I was designed to see them," continues Taylor. "They're the same clouds of fear and destruction that have darkened the world since Revelations, just different actors. But this music is for hope. That’s the only thing I want to say about it. Love is the only way out. I've never been afraid of the darkness; it’s just a different kind of light. And if some days that belief comes harder than others, hallelujah anyhow."


  1. Jenny Of The Roses
  2. Lost Out In The Darkness
  3. Jaw
  4. Harder Rain
  5. I Am The Song
  6. Gulfport You’ve Been On My Mind
  7. John the Gun
  8. Domino (Time Will Tell)
  9. Caledonia, My Love
  10. When The Wall Comes Down
Hallelujah Anyhow is out 22 September via Merge.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next