Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Hiss golden messenger 2021 press Shot full

Hiss Golden Messenger announce new album with lead single "If It Comes in the Morning"

08 March 2021, 15:27 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Hiss Golden Messenger have announced their upcoming album Quietly Blowing It, which is led by new single "If It Comes in the Morning".

"If It Comes in the Morning" is the second taster of Quietly Blowing It, after January's "Sactuary", and will follow their Grammy-nominated 2019 album Terms Of Surrender.

The new track is teamed with a KidEthnic-directed video shot in Oxford, NC, which stars actor and activist Mike Wiley.

Bandleader MC Taylor says of the track, ""If It Comes in the Morning" was a song that was written in the spring and early summer of 2020. The country was on fire, and I kept thinking to myself, ‘What comes next?' Initially, I didn’t know how much hope to include in the song - I wasn’t feeling particularly hopeful myself in that moment - but I felt that it was important to remember that whatever happened, most of us were going to be fortunate enough to be given another day in which to enact what I feel are the most important and fundamental parts of being alive: joy, love, peace, the willingness to keep moving forward whether the cards fall in our favour or not. And in remembering, at least, that these feelings exist, I suppose it became a song of hope. The Staple Singers and Curtis Mayfield were very good at writing these kinds of songs, and I suppose I was looking to their music as inspiration for "If It Comes in the Morning". When I got stumped on a verse, I called my friend Anaïs Mitchell, and she got me straightened out. I’m very thankful for her help."

Quietly Blowing It was written, arranged, and produced by MC Taylor, who says the album "feels like the most personal album that I’ve made because I’m not trying to explain anything to anyone except myself."


  1. Way Back in the Way Back
  2. The Great Mystifier
  3. Mighty Dollar
  4. Quietly Blowing It
  5. It Will If We Let It
  6. Hardlytown
  7. If It Comes in the Morning
  8. Glory Strums (Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner)
  9. Painting Houses
  10. Angels in the Headlights
  11. Sanctuary
"If It Comes in the Morning" is out now. Hiss Golden Messenger's Quietly Blowing It album will be released via Merge Records on 25 June, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next