Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Guided By Voices Village Underground Chris Almeida

Guided by Voices announce new LP with lead single "Volcano"

07 January 2020, 16:25 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Guided by Voices have announced their first album of the new decade, Surrender Your Poppy Field, as well as unveiling the lead single "Volcano".

"Volcano" is the first new track from Guided by Voices since their 2019 album Zeppelin Over China.

The new album will span 15 tracks. Speaking to Rolling Stone, Guided by Voices' Robert Pollard said of their new record, "I think Wizard of Oz came to mind when it was first conceived. I did a five-song EP about four or five years ago under the name Sunflower Logic and we included a mock catalog for the label name we used, Pink Banana Records. In it there are 50 or 60 fake band names with titles for 45s, EPs, albums and compilations and one of the songs was "Surrender Your Poppy Field". It stuck and I decided to give it a real home on a Guided by Voices album."

Pollard also told Rolling Stone that Guided by Voices have already recorded another album due for release this year.


  1. Year of the Hard Hitter
  2. Volcano
  3. Queen Parking Lot
  4. Arthur Has Business Elsewhere
  5. Cul-de-Sac Kids
  6. Cat Beats a Drum
  7. Windjammer
  8. Steely Dodger
  9. Stone Cold Moron
  10. Physician
  11. Man Called Blunder
  12. Woah Nelly
  13. Andre the Hawk
  14. Always Gone
  15. Next Sea Level
"Volcano" is out now. Guided by Voices' Surrender Your Poppy Field album will land 20 February, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next