Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Flo Morrissey and Matthew E. White to release collaborative covers record

18 November 2016, 11:18 | Written by Laurence Day

Flo Morrissey and Matthew E. White are teaming up for a full LP of covers called Gentlewoman, Ruby Man.

White and Morrissey have also shared the first track from the album - their take on Little Wings' "Look At What The Light Did Now".

The pair have also tackled tracks by Frank Ocean, James Blake, Leonard Cohen, the Velvet Underground, George Harrison, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Roy Ayers, Nino Ferrer, and the Bee Gees - nope, not "Tragedy" or "Stayin' Alive", but "Grease".

After meeting at the Barbican's Lee Hazelwood tribute, the musicians stayed in contact and eventually opted to work together again - Gentlewoman, Ruby Man was recorded at White's Richmond, Virginia-based Spacebomb Studios.

White and Morrissey both last released records in 2015 - the former dropped Fresh Blood, while the latter shot out Tomorrow Will Be Beautiful.


  1. Look At What The Light Did Now (Little Wings cover)
  2. Thinking ‘Bout You (Frank Ocean cover)
  3. Looking For You (Nino Ferrer cover)
  4. Colour Of Anything (James Blake cover)
  5. Everybody Loves The Sunshine (Roy Ayers cover)
  6. Grease (Bee Gees cover)
  7. Suzanne (Leonard Cohen cover)
  8. Sunday Morning (Velvet Underground cover)
  9. Heaven Can Wait (Charlotte Gainsbourg cover)
  10. Govindam (George Harrison cover)
Gentlewoman, Ruby Man is released 13 January.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next