Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Fleet Foxes mar17 Shawn Brackbill

Fleet Foxes announce new record Crack-Up, share nine-minute track "Third of May / Ōdaigahara"

07 March 2017, 15:14 | Written by Laurence Day

Fleet Foxes are back - they've shared nine-minute track "Third of May / Ōdaigahara", the first from new album Crack-Up.

The lengthy ode is their first new music in six years - it follows 2011's Helplessness Blues - and comes after a sustained period of teasing from frontman Robin Pecknold. The beautiful lyric video is created by Sean Pecknold and Adi Goodrich.

Crack-Up was recorded at a range of US studios, including NYC's Electric Lady, between July 2016 and January 2017. It's co-produced by Pecknold and bandmate Skyler Skjelse, mixed by Phil Ek, and mastered by Greg Calbi.

There are lots of live dates planned, including shows at Iceland Airwaves and a headline spot at this year's Latitude. Find their full live plans.


  1. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
  2. Cassius, -
  3. - Naiads, Cassadies
  4. Kept Woman
  5. Third of May / Ōdaigahara
  6. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
  7. Mearcstapa
  8. On Another Ocean (January / June)
  9. Fool’s Errand
  10. I Should See Memphis
  11. Crack-Up
Crack-Up is out 16 June via Nonesuch.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next