"Nerves of Steel" is the third single to be lifted from Erasure's The Neon album, after earlier releases "Shot A Satellite" and "Hey Now (Think I Got A Feeling)".

The duo's latest single arrives with a video directed by Brad Hammer, and features appearances from a large number of LGBTQIA+ artists: 6, Amanda Lepore, Aurora Sexton, Candis Cayne, Cara Melle, Cheddar Gorgeous, CT Hedden, Delta Work, Detox, Joey Jay, Kiki Xtravaganza, Manila Luzon, Mayhem Miller, Mercedes Tyler, Morgan Michaels, Nina West, Pandomonia, Pearl, Raja Gemini, Sherry Vine, and Widow Von 'Du.

The album is written and produced by Erasure. Vince Clarke of the duo says of the LP, "Our music is always a reflection of how we’re feeling. He was in a good place spiritually, and so was I – really good places in our minds. You can hear that."

Andy Bell adds, "It was about refreshing my love – hopefully our love – of great pop. I want kids now to hear these songs! I wanted to recharge that feeling that pop can come from anyone."

"Nerves of Steel" is out now. Erasure's The Neon album is due to land on 21 August via Mute, and is available to pre-order now.