"Holy Mackerel" is the opening track from the four-track Super João EP, which is written, produced, and performed by the band's Dave Longstreth.

The tracks that make up the new Bossa Nova-inspired EP were written with help from Kyle Field (Little Wings), and were recorded straight to tape with Longstreth's LA neighbour Kyle Thomas (King Tuff).

As well as detailing their forthcoming EP, Dirty Projectors have also confirmed the release of all five EP's as one anthology titled 5EPs, which will include the previous EP's Flight Tower (led by keyboardist/percussionist Felicia Douglas) and March's Windows Open EP, which was fronted by guitarist Maia Friedman.

Longstreth says of the EP's, "This cycle of EP's is about growth, transition, liminal space, shifting identity. Alan Ginsberg had a phrase ‘first thought, best thought’ to talk about a particular kind of writing - not automatic writing exactly, but quick, spontaneous, trusting. For me, these songs are about rediscovering that place, after the stereo ouroboros of the Ivo Shandor era (Dirty Projectors, Lamp Lit Prose). And I think for us - Felicia, Maia, Kristin, Mike and me - it’s about finding it for the first time: playing, writing, learning together as a new band."

Super João Tracklist:

  1. Holy Mackerel
  2. I Get Carried Away
  3. You Create Yourself
  4. Moon, If Eve
"Holy Mackerel" is out now. Dirty Projectors' Super João EP will land 4 September. The band's 5EPs anthology will arrive on 13 November via Domino, and is available to pre-order now.