Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Crack cloud 2022 press shot credit fahim kassam

Crack Cloud announce second album with lead cut "Please Yourself"

11 May 2022, 12:51 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Vancouver collective Crack Cloud are back with details of their upcoming second album Tough Baby, and have released new single "Please Yourself" as the lead outing.

"Please Yourself" is the collective's first new material since their 2020 debut album Pain Olympics, and is accompanied by a video that features an appearance from Mac DeMarco.

Crack Cloud's Zach Choy says, "As a kid, my bedroom was an altar. The images on the wall represented much of what I idolised and aspired to be. This sort of deification of pop culture helped to reinforce my sense of self narrative, however fabricated. But it also provided a sense of solidarity... with a subculture that validated insecurities in a personable way. This is what makes the media industry such a profound paradox. It is as much a source of inspiration for people, as it is an engineered illusion."

"The subtext of the video is really as follows: art is a mechanism for healing and discovery," Choy adds. "You learn through it, and you grow with it. In our culture we’re predisposed to quantifying art, to sanctioning it, and to manufacturing it. But underneath all of that, it is a form of living inquiry; it’s how we learn to unravel the extremities in life so that we may better understand ourselves, and each other."

The new single is the first taster of Crack Cloud's Tough Baby album, which will feature 10 tracks, and the title is, according to Choy, "an allusion to our planet. To our culture. And to our selves."

Choy also reveals that they made their debut album Pain Olympics with "no expectation of making another."


  1. Danny's Message
  2. The Politician
  3. Costly Engineered Illusion
  4. Please Yourself
  5. Virtuous Industry
  6. Tough Baby
  7. Criminal
  8. 115 At Night
  9. Afterthought (Sukhi's Prayer)
  10. Crackin Up
"Please Yourself" is out now. Crack Cloud's Tough Baby album will land via Meat Machine / Crack Cloud Media Studio onn 16 September, and is available to pre-order now. They'll play London's Electric Brixton with Osees on 18 May.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next