Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Christian lee hutson quitters press photo 2022 credit Jacob Boll

Christian Lee Hutson announces new album produced by Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst

12 January 2022, 15:52 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Christian Lee Hutson has announced his Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst-produced second album Quitters alongside a new single "Rubberneckers" that features backing vocals from Bridgers.

"Rubberneckers", which features backing vocals from frequent collaborator and Quitters co-producer Phoebe Bridgers, is the second single to be lifted from Hutson's new album, following November's "Strawberry Lemonade".

Speaking about the Zoe Donahoe and Adam Sputh-directed video, Hutson says, "I made the "Rubberneckers" video with my friends Zoe and Adam, who I worked with on the "Lose This Number" video. The last time I danced was at the 8th grade social and it was mainly just swaying to "I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing" but I wanted to showcase what a natural, gifted dancer I am."

Quitters will follow Hutson's 2020 debut album Beginners.

"When we made Beginners the aim was to make simple digital recordings of how I would play the songs in the room," Hutson explains of the album. "With this record, Phoebe and Conor had an idea that it would be fun to make it to tape. Phoebe is my best friend and making Beginners with her was so comfortable and easy. So I wanted to work with her again."

He adds, "I took a long time with Beginners. I had those songs for 10 years, but these songs came out a lot faster ... There was a little bit of insecurity with the lyrics. Having Conor there served the purpose of someone who I really respect as a lyricist and could soothe my anxiety."


  1. Strawberry Lemonade
  2. Endangered Birds
  3. Rubberneckers
  4. Sitting Up With A Sick Friend
  5. Age Difference
  6. Blank Check
  7. Cherry
  8. State Bird
  9. Teddy’s Song
  10. Black Cat
  11. Creature Feature
  12. OCDemon
  13. Triple Axel
"Rubberneckers" is out now. Christian Lee Hutson's Quitters album will be released 1 April via ANTI-, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next