Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Charly Bliss Young Enough Press Pic Credit to Ebru Yildiz

Charly Bliss announce second album with poppy lead single "Capacity"

06 February 2019, 15:22 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

New York pop-rock outfit Charly Bliss drive away from egotistical people on "Capacity", the first single from their sophomore record Young Enough.

Landing with visuals directed by Japanese Breakfast's Michelle Zauner, Charly Bliss' Eva Hendricks explains, ""Capacity" is a song about wanting to kill your inner people-pleaser, and Michelle beautifully presented a parallel concept, which warns of the perils of getting swept up in other people's bullshit."

"Capacity" is the second track featured on their forthcoming Young Enough record, which marks their first since signing to Lucky Number, and follows on from their 2017 debut album Guppy.

On their new record, Hendricks says, "I don't know why it's easiest for me to frame the darkest lyrics in the context of upbeat songs. It's completely instinctual and not something I ever plan out. It sort of mirrors how I am, and maybe it's a way of protecting myself. In my opinion, the two best emotional releases are crying and dancing, so it makes sense to me to marry the two."

Bassist Dan Shure adds, "We definitely go to different places on this one. But it still sounds like us. It's still fun."

Young Enough was recorded at Sunset Sound in LA and is produced by Joe Chiccarelli (Broken Social Scene, Morrissey, The Shins).


  1. Blown to Bits
  2. Capacity
  3. Under You
  4. Camera
  5. Fighting in the Dark
  6. Young Enough
  7. Bleach
  8. Chatroom
  9. Hurt Me
  10. Hard to Believe
  11. The Truth
"Capacity" is out now. Young Enough lands 10 May via Lucky Number. After their SXSW show in March Charly Bliss will tour Europe, and play London's Oslo on 13 May. Find out more. Revisit our Talk The Line podcast with Eva Hendricks.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next