After returning in February with new single "Roots", Cautious Clay is back with the announcement of his debut album Deadpan Love, which is accompanied by new cut "Karma & Friends".

Both of his 2021 singles will feature on his debut album alongside earlier outings "Dying In The Subtlety" and "Agreeable".

Deadpan Love sees Cautious Clay collaborate with co-writers including Tobias Jesso Jr. (Adele, HAIM), Jim-E Stack (Caroline Polachek, Empress Of), Daniel Nigro (Olivia Rodrigo, FINNEAS), Jesse Shatkin (Sia, Kelly Clarkson), Ammar Malik (Maroon 5, Halsey) and Sir Nolan (Shawn Mendes, Selena Gomez), and will also feature collaboration with Chicago rapper Saba.

He says of the album, "Deadpan Love explores the ways I cope with the worst of what humanity has to offer. It’s about opposites - having an outer layer that’s tougher, this “deadpan” state, and an inner layer of compassion, where you’re open to being there for the people you care about. It’s this warring compassion and cynicism that has empowered me to express myself through this medium."


  1. High Risk Travel
  2. Shook
  3. Karma & Friends
  4. Strange Love (feat. Saba)
  5. Box of Bones
  6. Agreeable
  7. Dying In The Subtlety
  8. Why Is Your Clay So Cautious?
  9. Artificial Irrelevance
  10. Whoa
  11. Wildfire
  12. Spinner
  13. Roots
  14. Bump Stock
"Karma & Friends" is out now. Cautious Clay's Deadpan Love album will be released 25 June via The Orchard, and is available to pre-order now.