Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Beth orton 2022 press shot credit Eliot Lee Hazel

Beth Orton announces first album in six years with title-track "Weather Alive"

31 May 2022, 10:50 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Beth Orton has announced her first album in six years Weather Alive, and has shared the seven-minute title-track as the lead outing.

"Weather Alive" is Orton's first release since covering Antony and the Johnsons' "For Today I Am A Boy" in 2020, and is teamed with a Eliot Lee Hazel-directed video.

The new single is the title-track from Orton's seventh studio album, and first on Partisan Records. The new album will follow 2016's Kidsticks, and features contributions from The Smile and Sons of Kemet's Tom Skinner, Alabaster dePlume, Shahzad Ismaily and The Invisible’s bassist Tom Herbert.

Orton says of the new record, "Through the writing of these songs and the making of this music, I found my way back to the world around me – a way to reach nature and the people I love and care about. This record is a sensory exploration that allowed for a connection to a consciousness that I was searching for. Through the resonance of sound and a beaten up old piano I bought in Camden Market while living in a city I had no intention of staying in, I found acceptance and a way of healing."


  1. Weather Alive
  2. Friday Night
  3. Fractals
  4. Haunted Satellite
  5. Forever Young
  6. Lonely
  7. Arms Around a Memory
  8. Unwritten
"Weather Alive" is out now. Beth Orton's album of the same name will arrive via Partisan Records on 23 September, and is available to pre-order now. She'll play London's KOKO on 9 October. Tickets go on general sale 10 June via
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next