"Electra Rex" is the second release from Arca's KicK iii album following September's "Incendio", and arrives after last week's KICK ii tracks "Prada" and "Rakata".

Arca wrote of the new album and single in a statement, "For me KicK iii is the most incendiary entry in the kick universe. The album is a portal directly into the more manic, violently euphoric and aggressively psychedelic sound palettes in the series. "Electra Rex" is a new archetype I propose in reference to commonly understood ideas of Freud regarding the oedipal complex - Oedipus Rex kills the father and unknowingly making love to the mother. Electra complex posits the binary opposite: killing the mother and unknowingly making love to the father. And so I am the first to propose a nonbinary psychosexual narrative to avoid falling into the same generational tragic blind spots. "Electra Rex", a merging of both names, an integration of both Oedipus Rex and Electra: "Electra Rex" it kills both parents and has sex with itself, and chooses to live."

KICK ii will follow Arca's 2020 Grammy-nominated album KiCk i, and will feature production and songwriting contributions from Cardopusher, Boys Noize, Mica Levi, Jenius Level, Wondagurl and Cubeatz.


  1. Bruja
  2. Incendio
  3. Morbo
  4. Fiera
  5. Skullqueen
  6. Electra Rex
  7. Ripples
  8. Rubberneck
  9. Señorita
  10. My 2
  11. Intimate Flesh
  12. Joya
"Electra Rex" is out now. Arca's KICK ii and KicK iii albums will be released 3 December via XL Recordings.