Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Algiers jun17

Algiers unleash industrial gospel hymn "Cleveland"

13 June 2017, 15:40 | Written by Laurence Day

Algiers have unveiled "Cleveland", the second single from their forthcoming LP The Underside Of Power.

"Cleveland" is a rickety, ramshackle rabble-rouser rife with industrial percussion and unhinged vocal displays. Gospel samples twist around shards of noise, with post-apocalyptic havoc sewn into every refrain - frontman Franklin James Fisher belts with fire in his eyes on the follow up to lead single "The Underside Of Power".

"A recurring theme in our music is the idea of injustice and the bitter understanding that obtaining justice in this world is all but impossible - particularly for black and brown people," says Fisher of the track, the title of which references the killing of Tamir Rice. "I wanted the song to sound like the Final Judgement in the Bible, wherein the wicked are judged and condemned by the righteous with all the 'weeping and gnashing of teeth,' of the damned when justice is finally realized. This translates in the 'solo' section of the song. It consists of various recordings of people inconsolably crying and weeping while the guitar and lead vocal mirror their contortions. If you’ve ever witnessed something like that in real life, sound of a person’s sorrow is equal parts frightening and musical."


  1. Walk Like A Panther
  2. Cry Of The Martyrs
  3. The Underside Of Power
  4. Death March
  5. A Murmur. A Sign.
  6. Mme Rieux
  7. Cleveland
  8. Animals
  9. Plague Years
  10. A Hymn For An Average Man
  11. Bury Me Standing
  12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly
The Underside Of Power is out via Matador on 23 June.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next