Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Algiers apr17

Algiers announce new album The Underside Of Power

27 April 2017, 15:00 | Written by Laurence Day

Algiers are back with ludicrously catchy new single "The Underside Of Power", the hard-hitting first taste of their second album of the same name.

"The Underside Of Power" sees vocalist/lyricist/guitarist Franklin James Fisher focus rage into a dangerously poppy point, sending fury through classic soul coos and rampaging blues punk riffs. Henry Busby directs the visuals, which merge archival footage of resistance icons with shots of a makeshift war room.

"No matter what your messaging is, you can’t control what people will or won’t take away from it," says bassist Ryan Mahan of the track. "The only thing you can do is put stuff of substance out there."

Algiers recorded the LP "largely" in Bristol with Adrian Utley (Portishead) and Ali Chant. Randall Dunn (Sunn O)))) is on mixing with Ben Greenberg adding post-production. The Underside Of Power follows the band's incisive self-titled debut, which arrived in 2015, and sees the group expand in all directions, using disparate genres - from gospel to post-punk to electronica to Italo disco - to deliver must-hear political statements.

Drummer Matt Tong (Bloc Party, L'Amour Bleu, Red Love) is also joining the ranks of Algiers as an official fourth member (although he's been playing with them for ages).


  1. Walk Like A Panther
  2. Cry Of The Martyrs
  3. The Underside Of Power
  4. Death March
  5. A Murmur. A Sign.
  6. Mme Rieux
  7. Cleveland
  8. Animals
  9. Plague Years
  10. A Hymn For An Average Man
  11. Bury Me Standing
  12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly
The Underside Of Power is out via Matador on 23 June.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next