In a statement, McArdle said that she was leaving after a period of worsening mental health so she can recover.

The band released their second record Peanut Butter last month to significant acclaim; you can stream it here. Their debut, Weird Sister, won the 2014 Welsh Music Prize.

The full statement/announcement regarding McArdle's departure can be found below.

The band have now added Kate (Pennycress) on "melodic vocals/shouting/screaming" and Roxy (Two White Cranes, Grubs, Trust Fund, TOWEL) on vocals/keyboard.

Joanna Gruesome have also announced a new tour in support of Peanut Butter.


4 - Roskilde Festival, Denmark


18 - Islington Mill, Manchester UK
19 - Head Of Steam, Newcastle UK
20 - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK
22 - Scala, London UK
23 - Summerhall, Edinburgh UK
24 - Glad Cafe, Glasgow UK
25 - Trades Club, Hebden Bridge UK
26 - Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff UK 
29 - The Haunt, Brighton UK