Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Yaya Bey Main Press Shot 2 by Geoffrey Baptiste

Yaya Bey announces new EP with title-track "exodus the north star"

07 February 2023, 15:58 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Yaya Bey has shared news of her forthcoming EP Exodus the North Star, and has released the title-track to accompany the announcement.

"exodus the north star" will appear on Yaya Bey's upcoming six-track EP of the same name, and marks her first new outing since last year's "pour up" collaboration with DJ Nativesun.

Speaking about her upcoming EP, which will follow last year's Remember Your North Star album, Yaya Bey says: "Exodus the North Star is my most vulnerable work to date. This is how I see joy and love in the world and what I aspire to feel and be. I have become an expert at turning my pain and grief as a black woman into music. Black people have a masterful way of telling our stories and sharing pain, but we're also masters of joy and imagination. We have always been in a global conversation about how to alchemize our experiences and reimagine our circumstances. From the ties between Lovers Rock and R&B to Gospel and House. Our joy is a collective effort.

"I rarely write about what I would like my existence to be in this world. This is a new level of vulnerability for me. Proclaiming my desires. What I’ve come to learn I deserve. This is my thank you to my people: my peers, the elders and the ancestors for being in this work with me. Cheers to the future."


  1. exodus the north star
  2. on the pisces moon
  3. when saturn returns
  4. munerah
  5. 12 houses down
  6. ascendent (mother fxcker) (feat. Exaktly)

"exodus the north star" is out now. Yaya Bey's EP of the same name will arrive on 24 March via Big Dada.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next