Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Wolfgang Tillmans PR 1 Mustafah Abdulaziz

Wolfgang Tillmans announces his second album, Build from Here

12 March 2024, 17:47 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

German photographer and artist Wolfgang Tillmans has announced his forthcoming second album, Build from Here, alongside the single, "Regratitude".

In 2000, Tillmans was the first photographer and first non-British artist to receive the Turner Prize, an award given annually by Tate in London. After a thirty-year hiatus from making music and a career in close proximity to musicians and club culture, in 2016 Tillmans released his 2016 / 1986 EP. Two months later, Frank Ocean surprised listeners by including Tillmans’ electro hymn "Device Control" on his 2016 visual album Endless – an excerpt of the song serving as the album’s intro, and the full seven-minute version appearing as the last track. A day later, Ocean released a second album, Blonde, with Tillmans’ portrait of Ocean on the front cover.

2021 saw the release of Tillmans first full-length album, Moon In Earthlight. A fifty-two-minute continuous succession of explorations of sound, from spoken word and field recordings to jams and intricate studio productions, Moon in Earthlight also became a video installation, which is now held in the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, New York.

The forthcoming album is driven by a desire to explore, to expose. It is insistent upon multiplicities—of sound, of presentation, of meaning—in an era of atavistic fascisms. Although Tillmans may sing, “We mean what we say / language is what it is / we mean what it says”, he simultaneously proposes that we mean so much more.


  1. Where Does The Tune Hide
  2. Regratitude
  3. Cab Ride
  4. Primal (Intro)
  5. We Are Not Going Back
  6. Morning Light
  7. ADA403
  8. French Lesson
  9. Grüne Linien Feat. FRAGILE
  10. Build From Here
  11. Modernist Survival Unit
  12. There’s More That Connects Us
  13. Not Telling A Friend
  14. Language

Build from Here is set for release on 26 April via Fragile, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next