Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Tkay Maidza orange 2023 Dana Trippe

Tkay Maidza announces her brand new album alongside the single "Ring-A-Ling"

25 July 2023, 18:13 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Tkay Maidza the first female rapper signed to 4AD – announces details of her highly anticipated new album, Sweet Justice.

Sweet Justice is the follow-up to her 2016 self-titled debut album, and includes the recent Flume-produced single "Silent Assassin". The album also includes collaborations with Lolo Zouaï and Amber Mark on "Out of Luck" and Duckwrth on "Gone to the West".

Today, Tkay shares the new track, "Ring-A-Ling" and official video directed by Jocelyn Anquetil.

In a traditional sense, Sweet Justice is a breakup record: about Tkay splitting off from her self-doubt and warped sense of self, the toxic figures that populated the last chapter of her life, and the idea that she should stick to any one lane.

After severing ties with old friends, she found some new ones on the same creative wavelength: Canadian producers Stint and Kaytranada, and fellow Australian Flume, all of whom contribute production.

"Sweet Justice was a way for me to channel my emotions from what I’ve experienced in the last two years. It’s a diary of things and thoughts I’ve kept to myself," she says. "Making the record was a healing experience and I’m grateful to have worked with producers who have inspired me throughout my career.”

Sweet Justice follows the 24 song genre-bending Last Year Was Weird trilogy exploring Maidza’s own African-Australian experience. The project earned her a 2021 ARIA Awards win for Best Soul/R&B Release and an NME Award for Best Solo Act from Australia in 2022. Following on from tours with Billie Eilish and Dua Lipa. She is currently in the midst of a run of arena shows with Lizzo.

The forthcoming album is being released on standard black vinyl, and orange/yellow splatter vinyl as a Rough Trade exclusive. Standard black vinyl pre-orders made at participating indie retailers will receive an exclusive 7” vinyl of Tkay Maidza's cover of the Pixies’ 1988 classic, "Where Is My Mind?".


  1. Love and Other Drugs
  2. WUACV
  3. Out of Luck (feat. Lolo Zouaï & Amber Mark)
  4. What Ya Know
  5. Won One
  6. Love Again
  7. WASP
  8. Ghost!
  9. Ring-a-Ling
  10. Free Throws
  11. Silent Assassin
  12. Our Way
  13. Gone to the West (feat. Duckwrth)
  14. Walking On Air

"Ring-A-Ling" is out now. Sweet Justice is released on 3 November via 4AD.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next