Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

The Hives set to release their first album in over a decade

02 May 2023, 18:01 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

The Hives return with "Bogus Operandi" which is taken from their first studio album in over a decade, The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons.

The announcement is paired with the release of the album’s opening track "Bogus Operandi" which comes with a video directed by Aube Perrie (Harry Styles, Megan Thee Stallion).

In the time since 2012's Lex Hives, the band has released 2019’s double A-side "I'm Alive" / "Good Samaritan" as well as a live album via Third Man Records.

The Hives now admit they have not seen nor spoken to their founder, mentor and songwriter, the perpetual limelight-shunning Randy Fitzsimmons, since the release of Lex Hives. Following the recent discovery of a hidden away obituary and cryptic poem in the local paper of the Northern Vastmanland town where The Hives are from, the band members were led to Fitzsimmons’ tombstone. Upon digging the freshly interred ground, the band found not a body but instead several tapes, suits, and a piece of paper bearing the words “The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons” typed up as if a title. The uncovered tapes included the demos that would become the twelve new songs on The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons.

Of the new album, frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist declares, “There's no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock’n’roll? That's always where people go wrong, I feel. ‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That's literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock’n’roll can't grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it's all down to our excitement – and you can’t fake that shit.”

The Johan And Only joins Chris Dangerous, Vigilante Carlstroem, Nicholaus Arson, and Howlin' Pelle as a full member of The Hives following the departure of ex-bassistDr Matt Destruction.

The announcement and new single precede a spring UK/EU arena tour with the Arctic Monkeys,as well as UK festival dates and intimate album in-store performances. The intimate shows are in Bristol and Nottingham (Rough Trade Records), and Prysm in Kingston (Banquet Records).

The band will also perform a very special underplay show at The Garage, in London. Pre-sale access for this show is given to fans who pre-order the album from the band's D2C store before 9 May. Fan pre-sale takes place on 10 May, with tickets going on general sale on 12 May.


1. Bogus Operandi
2. Trapdoor Solution
3. Countdown To Shutdown
4. Rigor Mortis Radio
5. Stick Up
6. Smoke & Mirrors
7. Crash Into The Weekend
8. Two Kinds Of Trouble
9. The Way The Story Goes
10. The Bomb
11. What Did I Ever Do To You?
12. Step Out Of The Way

The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons is out on 11 August via Fuga.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next