Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The Breeders by Kevin Westenberg black and white 2023

The Breeders celebrate Last Splash 30th anniversary with new track "Go Man Go"

27 June 2023, 17:35 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

The Breeders unveil plans for an analogue release of their seminal album, Last Splash, on its 30th anniversary.

Recorded by the classic Breeders line-up of Kim Deal, Kelley Deal, Josephine Wiggs and Jim Macpherson, and featuring the infectious track,"Cannonball", Last Splash immediately became an alt-rock classic, achieving platinum status in the UK and US, and is ranked in Pitchfork’s Top 100 Records of the 1990s.

To celebrate this anniversary, the album has been remastered from the original analog tapes – previously thought to be lost – a process which also brought to light two unreleased tracks, a discovery that will delight fans.

Today, the Breeders share one of those songs – "Go Man Go", which was co-written by Kim Deal and Black Francis – together with a brand-new video, directed by Brandon Weaver of Ironwing Studios.

Last Splash (the 30th Anniversary Original Analog Edition) will span two 12-inch vinyl discs, plus an exclusive, one-sided etched 12-inch disc containing two forgotten tracks from the original Last Splash sessions: "Go Man Go" and "Divine Mascis" – a version of "Divine Hammer" with lead vocals provided courtesy of Dinosaur Jr.’s J Mascis.

In honour of the album’s 30 years, the band will be hitting the road in September for a special run of shows performing Last Splash in its entirety. They will be appearing with Belly (formed by original Breeder Tanya Donelly), Screaming Females and Horsegirl in select markets.


  1. New Year
  2. Cannonball
  3. Invisible Man
  4. No Aloha
  5. Roi
  6. Do You Love Me Now?
  7. Flipside
  8. I Just Wanna Get Along
  9. Mad Lucas
  10. Divine Hammer
  11. S.O.S
  12. Hag
  13. Saints
  14. Drivin’ on 9
  15. Roi (Reprise)

Exclusive 12-inch vinyl

  1. Go Man Go
  2. Divine Mascis

"Go Man Go" is out now. Last Splash (the 30th Anniversary Original Analog Edition) will arrive on 22 September and is available to pre-order.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next