Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Sigur Ros monochrome group shot in snow

Sigur Rós announce 20th anniversary reissue of ( ) featuring unreleased demos

07 October 2022, 12:10 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Sigur Rós are reissuing their third album ( ) to celebrate its 20th anniversary, and it’ll feature a series of unreleased demos.

The 20th anniversary reissue has been remastered by engineer Ted Jenson at Sterling Sound, and to accompany the announcement, Sigur Rós have unveiled a Jacobs Studios Sessions version of “Untitled #7”, aka "Dauðalagið".

The 20th anniversary release will feature unheard studio sessions of existing tracks, as well as two b-sides from the original "Untitled 1" single.

( ) was recorded in Álafoss, Iceland in an empty swimming pool, and followed their 1999 album Ágætis byrjun.

Back in February Sigur Rós reunited with their former keyboardist Kjartan Sveinsson nearly a decade after he left the band, and also appeared to tease that they’re working on a new album, their first since 2013's Kveikur, which is due to arrive in 2023.


  1. Untitled #1 - Vaka (The name of Orri's daughter)
  2. Untitled #2 - Fyrsta (The first song)
  3. Untitled #3 - Samskeyti (Attachment)
  4. Untitled #4 - Njósnavélin (The Spy Machine)
  5. Untitled #5 - Alafoss (The location of the band's studio)
  6. Untitled #6 - E-bow [Georg uses an E-bow on this song]
  7. Untitled #7 - Dauðalagið (The Death Song)
  8. Untitled #8 — Popplagið (The Pop Song)
  9. Untitled #7 (Jacobs Studio Sessions)
  10. Untitled #6” (Jacobs Studio Sessions)
  11. Untitled #8 (Jacobs Studio Sessions)
  12. Untitled #9 - Smáskífa 1 (Small Disc 1)
  13. Untitled #9 - Smáskífa 2 (Small Disc 2)
  14. Untitled #9 - Smáskífa 3 (Small Disc 3)

Sigur Rós’ 20th anniversary version of ( ) will arrive digitally on 28 October, and physical copies will follow on 25 November. Pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next