Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Rachel Chinouriri 2024 01 LEAD please credit Lauren Harris

Rachel Chinouriri announces her debut album, What A Devastating Turn of Events

18 January 2024, 10:00 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Alternative indie pop artist Rachel Chinouriri has announced the details of her long-awaited debut album, What A Devastating Turn Of Events.

The announcement of her debut album coincides with the brand new single, "Never Need Me", which is empowering ode to putting yourself first despite caring deeply about another person; following previous single, "The Hills".

"I made this song with a sense of heartbreak but empowerment. It’s about taking your power back the moment you realise that helping someone is actually hurting you because they aren’t willing to change. Sometimes you end up enabling someone instead of actually helping them and carrying their load is tough," she explains. "Never Need Me is the moment you wish them well but you can’t continue to harm yourself by helping them. It’s always a tough decision to make but once you make it, it’s a weight lifted off your shoulders for sure.”

Speaking about the album, she continues: “It’s finally here. The moment most musicians dream of when they’re a child. I can’t believe it’s real in a way, but I’m proud of it. What A Devastating Turn Of Events should feel like discovering a personal journey of all the hardship and struggles that have ultimately made me the person I am today. I was lost when I first made this album, when I felt so lost within myself but also in London. I was on a search to find myself and I can say I’ve managed to do that by the end of this process and have found a love for myself that I never thought was possible."

Rachel will play her biggest sold out headline show to date at London’s KOKO on 6th March 2024. In celebration of the announcement of her debut album, Rachel also announces two US headline dates in New York and LA in March, plus a run of intimate in-store shows across the UK next month


  1. Garden Of Eden
  2. The Hills
  3. Never Need Me
  4. My Everything
  5. All I Ever Asked
  6. It Is What It Is
  7. Dumb Bitch Juice
  8. What A Devastating Turn Of Events
  9. My Blood
  10. Robbed
  11. Cold Call
  12. I Hate Myself
  13. Pocket
  14. So My Darling

What A Devastating Turn Of Events is set for release on 3 May via Parlophone/Atlas Artists, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next