Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Mike Lindsay 2024 Ollie Harrop

Mike Lindsay joins forces with Anna B Savage on new single, "lie down"

12 February 2024, 10:51 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Mike Lindsay – Mercury Prize-winning producer, co-founder of UK acid folktronica band Tunng, and one half of electronic alt-psych duo LUMP with Laura Marling – has announce his debut solo album, supershapes volume 1.

The first instalment in a series of records that explore “the miraculous in the mundane”, volume 1 looks widely at “everyday domestic objects, especially tables, coffee table books, and the daily rituals that shape us, heavily focusing on the majestic in the domestic”. To mark the announcement of supershapes volume 1, Lindsay has shared the album's opening track and first single "lie down" with guest vocals from Anna B Savage, who features heavily across the album.

"The song itself is loosely based on reverse FOMO, when you’re out every night but yearning for domestic bliss, with all the menial tasks like taking out the rubbish and watching guilty pleasure telly," Lindsay says of the first single. "There is an unsettling, never-ending cycle of sevens on this track, you never quite get to relax. Though you’re woozy from the bendy bass, wobble chords and lullaby woodwind, you’re snapped out it by fast scattered table percussion and wonk sax. The words Lie down Lie down Lie down… Are all recorded on my phone from members of my entire family at Christmas."

At first, Lindsay had thought this first solo project of his would be purely instrumental. Then he brought in multi-instrumentalist Ross Blake, bringing breathy woodwind and soft saxophones which weaved through the analogue polyrhythmic shapes. “I had also just worked with Robert Stillman on the Nick Drake cover of 'Saturday Sun' I did with Guy Garvey,” he recalls. “Robert is an incredible saxophone player and musician. He has this beautiful thick and warm wild tone. I asked him to come in for a couple of days to bring his magic to the shapes.”

“As time went on though, I felt the songs were still missing a voice. The more they developed as instrumentals, the more I could imagine the tones of Anna B Savage. I had already worked with Anna on her album in|FLUX which was a wonderful experience. She is a true poet of the everyday emotions. Over four or five days together in my new studio in Margate, the supershapes started to come alive!”


  1. lie down
  2. ruins in reverse
  3. table
  4. pretender to surrender
  5. kachumber
  6. two blues
  7. it's all for you
  8. do what
  9. content
  10. i was the thief

supershapes volume 1, is set for release on 14 June via Moshi Moshi Records.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next