Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Yeah yeah yeahs 2022 press shot 2 credit David Black

Yeah Yeah Yeahs announce first album in nine years Cool It Down

01 June 2022, 15:03 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have announced their first album in nine years, Cool It Down, and have released the opener "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" featuring Perfume Genius as the lead outing.

After debuting "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" at their LA show on Monday (30 May), Yeah Yeah Yeahs have released the Perfume Genius collaboration in full, which is accompanied by a Cody Critcheloe-directed video.

Lead vocalist Karen O says of the new release, "I see the younger generations staring down this threat, and they’re standing on the edge of a precipice, confronting what’s coming with anger and defiance. It’s galvanising, and there’s hope there."

The new single is also teamed with news of Yeah Yeah Yeahs' first album in nine years, Cool It Down, which will follow 2013's Mosquito.

"To all who have waited, our dear fans, thank you, our fever to tell has returned, and writing these songs came with its fair share of chills, tears, and euphoria when the pain lifts and truth is revealed," Karen O says. "Don’t have to tell you how much we’ve been going through in the last nine years since our last record, because you've been going through it too, and we love you and we see you, and we hope you feel the feels from the music we’ve made. No shying away from the feels, or backing down from what’s been gripping all of us these days. So yes we’ve taken our time, happy to report when it’s ready it really does just flow out."

Karen O continues, "The record is called Cool It Down which is snagged from a lesser known Velvet Underground song. I told Alex Prager whose photo graces our record cover that her image speaks to sweeping themes in the music and sums up how I, Karen, feel existentially in these times! But there’s always more to the story. This is how our new story begins, we present to you with heads bowed and fists in the air "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" featuring Perfume Genius."


  1. Spitting Off the Edge of the World (Feat. Perfume Genius)
  2. Lovebomb
  3. Wolf
  4. Fleez
  5. Burning
  6. Blacktop
  7. Different Today
  8. Mars
"Spitting Off the Edge of the World" featuring Perfume Genius is out now. Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Cool It Down album will be released via Secretly Canadian on 30 September, and is available to pre-order now. They'll play London's O2 Academy Brixton on 7 and 8 June.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next