Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

William Tyler announces new album Modern Country

08 April 2016, 10:49 | Written by Laurence Day

William Tyler has announced a new album called Modern Country, and shared an enticing three-minute trailer featuring new noises.

In a statement about his fourth album, Tyler says: “Modern Country is a love letter to what we’re losing in America, to what we’ve already lost. We stand at the precipice of the twilight of empire, the decline of so many national institutions and the vanishing of certainties.”

The record was mostly written in Mississippi while staying with a family friend, and is the first recorded away from his hometown of Nashville, Tennessee. It was tracked in Eau Claure, Wisconsin, recorded and mixed by Jon Ashley, and produced by Tyler and Brad Cook.

Modern Country is released via CD, LP, and digital download on 10 June by Merge. It follows 2013's Impossible Truth.

Watch Tyler perform "Cadillac Desert" in session for us.

Check out the album trailer below, and check out its tracklist after.


1. Highway Anxiety
2. I'm Gonna Live Forever (If It Kills Me)
3. Kingdom of Jones
4. Albion Midnight
5. Gone Clear
6. Sunken Garden
7. The Great Unwind

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next