Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Wild Beasts are back with a bang

24 May 2016, 12:03 | Written by Laurence Day

Wild Beasts are back - they've announced new album Boy King and shared its lead single "Get My Bang".

The album was produced in Dallas, Texas, by John Congleton (St. Vincent, The War on Drugs) and features 10 tracks. It follows 2014's Present Tense - which we gave a rare perfect score in our review.

Olivier Groulx has directed the video for "Get My Bang", which was shot in Belgrade and features some truly spectacular dance moves from frontman Hayden Thorpe.

Speaking about the LP, Thorpe says: "After five records there had to be an element of 'what the fuck?'"

"It became apparent that that guitar almost became the character within the songs, that phallic character, the all-conquering male," Thorpe continues says. "I'm letting my inner Byron fully out, I thought I'd tucked him away, but he came screaming back like the Incredible Hulk. I think Boy King is an apocalyptic record. It's about swimming in the abyss. When you think about sex, you've got to think about death, they're one and the same.”

Boy King is out 5 August via Domino. A deluxe version includes a bonus 7" with two bonus songs and a 12-page booklet.

Wild Beasts have also announced a huge new tour, including a date at London's Roundhouse. They headline Green Man 2016 this summer.

Watch the video for "Get My Bang" below. The Boy King tracklist is after.


1. Big Cat
2. Tough Guy
3. Alpha Female
4. Get My Bang
5. Celestial Creatures
6. 2BU
7. He The Colossus
8. Ponytail
9. Eat Your Heart Out Adonis
10. Dreamliner

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next