Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Wilco celebrate 20th anniversary with two new records and a Chicago residency

15 October 2014, 12:28 | Written by Laurence Day

Wilco are to celebrate their 20th birthday in style: they'll release two compilations and have announced a string of dates, including six in Chicago for a residency at the Riviera Theatre (called the Wilco Winterlude).

Of the two releases, one is a greatest hits - titled What's Your 20: Essential Tracks - and another is a collection of rarities, live recordings and B-sides from throughout their career titled Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Track 1994-2014. The are both released 24 November on Rhino.

Speaking about the collection, box sets producer Cheryl Pawelski said:

“Like a lot of fans, I had collected these straggling tracks over the past two decades of following Wilco’s every move. Alpha Mike Foxtrot includes almost every unique, essential performance that appeared on soundtracks, tribute albums and B-sides — and there are probably a few surprises for even the sharpest collector. This set presents an alternate history of the band, kind of a sideways view, and ultimately, it’s a super-fun listening experience.”

When you pre-order Alpha Mike Foxtrot you'll get a free instant download of "A Magazine Called Sunset", a number that Jeff Tweedy calls “a mysterious omission from an official recorded output and a real attempt at complete pop music.” Alpha Mike Foxtrot also includes 64 pages of liner notes that include "track-by-track recollections from Tweedy, notes by band members Nels Cline and John Stirratt, and reflections from members of Wilco’s extended professional family... [and] dozens of archival and never-before-seen photos from a wide array of photographers chronicling all phases of the band’s career."

Check out the band's tour dates, including their Chicago residency, and the mammoth tracklisting for both releases. Of the residency, the band promise the set lists will change each night and that they'll play career-spanning shows. Tickets for all shows are released this Friday (17 October).


21 - Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
22 - Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
23 - Knoxville, TN Tennessee Theatre
25 - Raleigh, NC NC Museum of Art
28 - Port Chester, NY Capitol Theatre
29 - Port Chester, NY Capitol Theatre
30 - Port Chester, NY Capitol Theatre


3 - Milwaukee, WI The Riverside Theater
5 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre
6 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre
8 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre
9 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre
11 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre
12 - Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre

Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994–2014 tracklist:

Disc one:

1. Childlike and Evergreen (Demo)
2. Someone Else’s Song (Demo)
3. Passenger Side (Demo)
4. Promising
5. The T.B. is Whipping Me – with Syd Straw
6. I Must Be High (Live)
7. Casino Queen (Live)
8. Who Were You Thinking Of (Live)
9. I Am Not Willing
10. Burned
11. Blasting Fonda
12. Thirteen
13. Don’t You Honey Me
14. The Lonely 1 (White Hen version)
15. No More Poetry
16. Box Full of Letters (Live)
17. Red-Eyed and Blue (Live)
18. Forget the Flowers (Live)
19. Sunken Treasure (Live)
20. Monday (Demo)

Disc two:

1. Passenger Side (Live)
2. Outtasite (Outta Mind) (Live)
3. I Got You (At the End of the Century) (Live)
4. Outta Mind (Outta Site) (Live)
5. James Alley Blues – with Roger McGuinn (Live)
6. At My Window Sad and Lonely (Jeff Tweedy solo)
7. California Stars (Live)
8. One Hundred Years From Now
9. A Shot in the Arm (Remix)
10. ELT (King Size demo)
11. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (again) (Dave Kahne Remix)
12. She’s a Jar (Austin demo)
13. Tried and True
14. Student Loan Stereo
15. True Love Will Find You in the End
16. I’m Always in Love (Solo acoustic live)
17. Via Chicago (Austin Demo)
18. Can’t Stand It (Live)
19. Airline to Heaven (Alternate)
20. Any Major Dude Will Tell You

Disc three:

1. I’m the Man Who Loves You (Live)
2. The Good Part
3. Cars Can’t Escape
4. Camera
5. Handshake Drugs (First version)
6. A Magazine Called Sunset
7. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
8. Woodgrain
9. More Like the Moon
10. Let Me Come Home
11. Old Maid
12. Hummingbird (Alternate)
13. Spiders (Kidsmoke) (Live)
14. Hell is Chrome (Live)
15. At Least That’s What You Said (Live)
16. The Late Greats (Live)
17. Just a Kid – with The Blisters
18. Kicking Television

Disc four:

1. Panthers
2. Theologians (Live)
3. Another Man’s Done Gone (Live)
4. I’m a Wheel (Live)
5. How to Fight Loneliness (Live)
6. One True Vine
7. The Thanks I Get
8. Let’s Not Get Carried Away
9. Hate it Here (Live)
10. Impossible Germany (Live)
11. I Shall Be Released – with Fleet Foxes (Live)
12. What Light (Live)
13. Jesus, Etc. – with Andrew Bird (Live)
14. Glad It’s Over
15. Dark Neon
16. The Jolly Banker
17. Unlikely Japan
18. You and I – with Feist (Live)
19. I Love my Label

What's Your 20: Essential Tracks tracklist:

Disc one:

1. I Must be High
2. Box Full of Letters
3. Passenger Side
4. Casino Queen
5. Misunderstood
6. Red-Eyed and Blue
7. I Got You (At the End of the Century)
8. Monday
9. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
10. Sunken Treasure
11. California Stars
12. Hesitating Beauty
13. A Shot in the Arm
14. Can’t Stand It
15. She’s a Jar
16. I’m Always in Love
17. How to Fight Loneliness
18. Via Chicago
19. Airline to Heaven

Disc two:

1. I am Trying to Break Your Heart
2. I’m the Man Who Loves You
3. War on War
4. Jesus, Etc.
5. Ashes of American Flags
6. Heavy Metal Drummer
7. Hummingbird
8. Theologians
9. Handshake Drugs
10. The Late Greats
11. Hate it Here
12. Impossible Germany
13. Walken
14. Wilco (the Song)
15. You and I
16. You Never Know
17. I Might
18. Born Alone
19. Whole Love

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next