Gwenno, H. Hawkline, Houdini Dax, Richard James, Trwbador, and Hippies Vs Ghosts are also among the names announced.

Last year, Joanna Gruesome scooped the award with their debut Weird Sister, and they're back on the shortlist once more with its swift follow up Peanut Butter. Original vocalist Alanna McArdle, who sang on both albums, departed the band in June.

Check out the full Welsh Music Prize shortlist below:

Calan - Dinas
Catfish and The Bottlemen - The Balcony
Geraint Jarman - Dwyn Yr Hogyn Nol
Gwenno - Y Dydd Olaf
H. Hawkline - In The Pink Of Condition
Hippies vs Ghosts - Droogs
Houdini Dax - Naughty Nation
Joanna Gruesome - Peanut Butter
Keys - Ring The Changes
Paper Aeroplanes - Joy
Richard James - All The New Highways
Tender Prey - Organ Calzone
Trwbador - Several Wolves
Zarelli - Soft Rains
Zefur Wolves - Zefur Wolves