Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Waxahatchee confirms new record Ivy Tripp, streams lead single "Air"

13 January 2015, 10:40 | Written by Laurence Day

Waxahatchee, AKA Alabama's Katie Crutchfield, has announced a new album called Ivy Tripp, set to drop 7 April via Wichita (Merge in the USA).

She's also shared lead single "Air" and details of a lengthy tour this side of the Atlantic.

Speaking about the follow-up to Cerulean Salt, Crutchfield says:

"My life has changed a lot in the last two years, and it’s been hard for me to process my feelings other than by writing songs. I think a running theme [of Ivy Tripp] is steadying yourself on shaky ground and reminding yourself that you have control in situations that seem overwhelming... the title is really just a term I made up for directionless-ness, specifically of the 20-something, 30-something, 40-something of today, lacking regard for the complaisant life path of our parents and grandparents. I have thought of it like this: Cerulean Salt is a solid and Ivy Tripp is a gas."

If you pre-order Ivy Tripp now on limited-edition coloured vinyl via the Wichita shop, you'll bag an autographed poster too (while stocks last).

Stream "Air" below, and then find details of Crutchfield's upcoming European tour dates, including recently-announced full-band dates, after.

Solo European Dates:


26 - London, St. Pancras Church (SOLD OUT)
28 - Paris, L’Espace B
31 - Brussels, Botanique


1 - Amsterdam, Paradiso
4 - Berlin, Monarch

Full Band European Dates:


23 - Dresden, Beatpol


1 - Münster, Gleis 22
3 - Hamburg, Molotow
4 - Copenhagen, Beta
8 - Köln, Blue Shell
10 - London, Electric Ballroom
11 - Bristol, The Fleece
12 - Manchester, The Ruby Lounge
13 - Dublin, Button Factory
14 - Belfast, McHughs
15 - Glasgow, Stereo
16 - Newcastle, The Cluny
17 - Leeds, The Brudenell Social Club
18 - Sheffield, The Harley
19 - Southhampton, Joiners

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next