Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Villagers announce new album Darling Arithmetic, stream lead cut "Courage"

02 February 2015, 11:48 | Written by Laurence Day

Villagers - lead by Conor O'Brien - have detailed their third full-length outing, Darling Arithmetic, and are sharing the visuals for lead single "Courage".

The track is a delicate, atmospheric acoustic-folk tune about finding self-confidence, and the video - directed by O'Brien - sees a sitting room self-serenade; it's intimate and worldly, and provides an exciting scrap of sound for us to gnaw on while we wait for the full release.

Darling Arithmetic was written, recorded, produced and mixed by O'Brien at his converted barn loft in Malahide (North of Dublin), and covers a variety of topics: "desire, obsession, lust, loneliness and confusion, and deeper into philosophical and existential territory, across a cast of lovers, friends, family and even strangers."

Villagers' upcoming record follows 2013's Mercury-nominated {Awayland}, and the lauded debut Becoming A Jackal.

Darling Arithmetic is out via Domino of 13 April. You can pre-order it physically here, or via iTunes here.

Stream "Courage" below. The tracklist for Darling Arithmetic can be found afterwards.


1. Courage
2. Everything I Am Is Yours
3. Dawning On Me
4. Hot Scary Summer
5. The Soul Serene
6. Darling Arithmetic
7. Little Bigot
8. No-one To Blame
9. So Naïve

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next