Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Vaults to release debut album Caught In Still Life in two weeks

18 November 2016, 13:08 | Written by Laurence Day

Vaults have announced long-awaited debut record Caught In Still Life - and it's out in just two weeks.

The news arrives hot on the heels of their cover of Randy Crawford's "One Day I'll Fly Away", which is currently being used for the annual John Lewis Christmas ad campaign.

Speaking about the ubiquitous ad, Vaults frontwoman Blythe Pepino says: "We were approached about doing a version of ‘One Day I'll Fly Away’ for the iconic John Lewis Christmas ad and loved the song choice. It’s such a powerful and beautiful song, made famous by the amazing Randy Crawford. Recording it at the Abbey Road studios with the talented, producer Chris Hill, and a 70 piece choir and 66 piece orchestra, was a truly incredible experience.”

Caught In Still Life is produced by Vaults themselves, and features 13 tracks (including "One Day I'll Fly Away").

“I write a lot of the songs to visuals, to weird short films and stuff,” says Vaults' Ben Vella. “I just find it a lot easier to write when you’re looking at something. Even from the point where it’s just a drumbeat, I’ll loop a short film.”

Vaults have also confirmed a handful of new UK shows, including a date at London's Islington Assembly on 9 February. Find out more.


  1. Cry No More
  2. Premonitions
  3. Midnight River
  4. One Last Night
  5. Poison
  6. Paradise
  7. Bodies
  8. Hurricane
  9. Overcome
  10. Lifespan
  11. Orphan
  12. Bloodflow
  13. One Day I’ll Fly Away
Caught In Still Life is released 2 December via Virgin/EMI. You can pre-order it now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next