Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Arthur russell main21

Unreleased Arthur Russell songs to feature on posthumous compilation

07 October 2019, 15:16 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

A collection of Arthur Russell's unreleased songs and demos will feature on a forthcoming posthumous compilation called Iowa Dream.

The new 19-track compilation has been put together by Russell's partner Tom Lee and Steve Knutson of Audika Records.

Peter Broderick also helped Audika Records with audio restoration and additional mixing for the posthumous compilation.

Iowa Dream also features contributions from Ernie Brooks, Rhys Chatham, Henry Flynt, Jon Gibson, Peter Gordon, Steven Hall, Jackson Mac Low, Larry Saltzman, and David Van Tieghem.

The album description states, "At once kaleidoscopic and intimate, Iowa Dream bears some of Russell’s most personal work, including several recently discovered folk songs he wrote during his time in Northern California in the early 1970s."


  1. Wonder Boy
  2. I Never Get Lonesome
  3. Everybody Everybody
  4. You Did It Yourself
  5. Come To Life
  6. Iowa Dream
  7. Words Of Love
  8. I Still Love You
  9. You Are My Love
  10. Barefoot In New York
  11. Just Regular People
  12. I Wish I Had A Brother
  13. I Felt
  14. The Dogs Outside Are Barking
  15. Sharper Eyes
  16. Follow You
  17. List Of Boys
  18. I Kissed The Girl From Outer Space
  19. In Love With You For The Last Time
"You Did It Yourself" is out now. Arthur Russell's Iowa Dream compilation arrives 15 November, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next