New Zealand's Unknown Mortal Orchestra released their latest record Sex & Food back in April.

"Hanoi 6" is the first track to be shared from the forthcoming sessions album, which was born out of a collaboration between the band's own Ruban Nielson, Jake Portrait, and Kody Nielson at Hanoi's own Phu Sa Studios.

Their Vietnam visit also saw the trio collaborate with local musician Minh Nguyen, who played the sáo trúc, the Đàn môi, and Vietnamese percussion.

The Nielson brothers' father, Chris, provides smooth jazz vibes with the flugelhorn, saxophone, and keyboards.


  1. Hanoi 1
  2. Hanoi 2
  3. Hanoi 3
  4. Hanoi 4
  5. Hanoi 5
  6. Hanoi 6
  7. Hanoi 7
"Hanoi 6" is available now. IC-01 Hanoi lands on 26 October via Jagjaguwar. Unknown Mortal Orchestra are currently on a world tour, and will play London's Royal Albert Hall on 21 November. Find out more.