Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
26730785 10156008867122103 7134291064488637930 n

Tracey Thorn's new solo album consists of "nine feminist bangers" and features Warpaint

17 January 2018, 13:40 | Written by The Line of Best Fit

Former Everything But The Girl star Tracey Thorn has teased her new album Record with a single "Queen" - her first new solo release since 2010's Love and Its Opposite - and promises an album in part about freedom and disenthrallment.

Taken from the album Record - due for a 2 March release - "Queen" features drums and bass from Warpaint’s Stella and Jenny.

”I think I’ve always written songs which chronicle the milestones of a woman’s life,” Thorn says. “Different ages and stages, different realities, not often discussed in pop lyrics. If 2010’s Love and Its Opposite was my mid-life album - full of divorce and hormones - then Record represents that sense of liberation that comes in the aftermath, from embarking on a whole new 'no fucks given' phase of life."

“I wanted it to be a record you’d listen to in the daytime,” Thorn adds. “On your headphones or on the move. Not necessarily in the evening, or in your bedroom.”

Tracey Thorn - Record Album Cover


  1. Queen
  2. Air
  3. guitar
  4. Smoke
  5. Sister
  6. Go
  7. Babies
  8. Face
  9. Dancefloor
Record is out 2 March via Unmade Road/Caroline.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next