Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Torres announces new LP Sprinter, streams lead single "Strange Hellos"

27 January 2015, 16:23 | Written by Laurence Day

Alt. country Nashville-schooled Torres, also known as Mackenzie Scott, has announced her sophomore LP Sprinter, and is streaming the lead track and album opener, "Strange Hellos".

"Strange Hellos" diverts from Scott's tried'n'tested macabre Americana offerings that were available on her debut noise. Instead, we get a grunge-rock maelstrom, rippling with St. Vincentisms and the darkness of Nick Cave, PJ Harvey (which is no small coincidence: "Harvey's Robert Ellis and Ian Olliver [are] on rhythm - the two fortuitously reuniting 23 years after the release of Dry, and in Scott's 23rd year of living") or Nadine Shah. It's complex, knotted and has the potential to be a launchpad for a very successful 2015 for Scott.

Expect Sprinter to be a record of intense intimacy, sonic scrutiny and lyrical depths.

Sprinter is due out 18 May on Partisan Records. It was written and recorded in Bridport, Dorset, and at the Bristol studio of Portishead's Adrian Utley.

Stream "Strange Hellos" below. The tracklist can be found below.


1. Strange Hellos
2. New Skin
3. Son, You Are No Island
4. A Proper Polish Welcome
5. Sprinter
6. Cowboy Guilt
7. Ferris Wheel
8. The Harshest Light
9. The Exchange

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next