Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Tom Jones announces new album with first track "Talking Reality Television Blues"

15 January 2021, 12:05 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Tom Jones has returned with details of his first studio album in over five years, Surrounded By Time, alongside unveiling the first track "Talking Reality Television Blues".

"Talking Reality Television Blues" is the first taster of Jones' new album, and is a reimagined version of Todd Snider's original.

Jones says of the song, "I was there when TV started -- didn’t know I'd become a part of it -- but it could be that its power is to remind us how wonderful, crazy and inventive we are, but also how scary the reality it reflects can be."

Surrounded By Time is co-produced by Ethan Johns and Mark Woodward, and will be his first new studio album since 2015's Long Lost Suitcase. All the tracks on the album are reimagined versions of songs that have had a big impact on Jones' life and career.


  1. I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
  2. The Windmills Of Your Mind (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
  3. Popstar (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
  4. No Hole In My Head (Malvina Reynolds)
  5. Talking Reality Television Blues (Todd Snider)
  6. I Won’t Lie (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
  7. This is the Sea (Michael Scott)
  8. One More Cup Of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
  9. Samson And Delilah (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
  10. Mother Earth (Tony Jo White)
  11. I’m Growing Old (Bobby Cole)
  12. Lazarus Man (Terry Callier)
"Talking Reality Television Blues" is out now. Tom Jones' Surrounded By Time album will land 23 April via EMI Records, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next