"Apart Together" is the third track to be shared from Minchin's LP, after "Leaving LA" and "I'll Take Lonely Tonight".

The new song is inspired by a story on LA radio station KCRW that revealed an elderly couple died of hypothermia in their mobile home while in each other's arms. Minchin says, "From the outset, if you enter marriage wholly accepting that it’s a commitment to watching each other decay, there’s something far more beautiful in that than the greeting-card depiction of love that it’s overturning."

Minchin recorded Apart Together over the past two years after moving back to Sydney.


  1. Summer Romance
  2. Apart Together
  3. Airport Piano
  4. The Absence Of You
  5. I Can't Save You
  6. Talked Too Much, Stayed Too Long
  7. Leaving LA Explicit
  8. I'll Take Lonely Tonight
  9. Beautiful Head
  10. If This Plane Goes Down
  11. Carry You
"Apart Together" is out now. Tim Minchin's Apart Together album will be released via BMG on 20 November, and is available to pre-order now.