Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Tim burgess cat stevens

Tim Burgess announces new album with opening single "Empathy For The Devil"

12 February 2020, 10:52 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Tim Burgess is back with news of his next album I Love The New Sky, and has shared the lead single from the record "Empathy For The Devil".

"Empathy For The Devil" is Burgess' first new single since his 2018 album As I Was Now, and opens with a melody that sounds like the skeleton structure of The Cure's "Boys Don't Cry".

I Love The New Sky marks a different chapter for Burgess, who wrote all 12 tracks on the album himself. He says, "In the past, I've written collaboratively. (2012's) Oh No I Love You was written with Lambchop’s Kurt Wagner in Nashville, and then Same Language, Different Worlds was a collaboration with Peter Gordon who had worked extensively with Arthur Russell."

Burgess adds that he wrote the tracks "in Norfolk, in the middle of the countryside, with the nearest shop eight miles away. There are no distractions, and I guess that way things happen. I wrote everything on acoustic guitar, and the chords were really considered. The guitar lines would lead the melody, and the melody would inform the lyrics – just dreaming away with music."


  1. Empathy For The Devil
  2. Sweetheart Mercury
  3. Comme D’Habitude
  4. Sweet Old Sorry Me
  5. Warhol Me
  6. Lucky Creatures
  7. The Mall
  8. Timothy
  9. Only Took A Year
  10. I Got This
  11. Undertow
  12. Laurie
"Empathy For The Devil" is out now. Tim Burgess' I Love The New Sky album lands via Bella Union on 22 May, and is available to pre-order now. He plays London's Oslo on 18 June. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next