Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The new pornographers 2019

The New Pornographers announce eighth album with lead single "Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile"

02 August 2019, 11:40 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Canada's The New Pornographers have returned with details of their eighth album In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights, alongside revealing the lead single "Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile".

"Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile" is the group's first new single since their 2017 album Whiteout Conditions.

Lead vocalist A.C. Newman says of the new single, "There are so many songs like "the something of love" - you know, there’s "The Book of Love", "The Freeway of Love"…Then I thought of "falling down the stairs of your love", and I thought, that kind of works."

The New Pornographers' upcoming album is also produced by frontperson A.C. Newman. Expanding on their new single, Newman says, "I think it has that element of how do you deal with the ideas of love and happiness in this world right now? When current events are stressful, that makes a stress on people’s relationships, and you’re trying to figure out how to be happy in this loving relationship in this world that seems ugly at every turn, which is not as easy as it seems. So I like the metaphor of love as something that you fall down."

Of their eighth album, Newman says, "I was about two-thirds of the way through the record when I began to notice that lyrically so much of it was pointing toward car songs. The opening track is "You’ll Need a Backseat Driver", and that was a metaphor that seemed to be running through other songs, too. Next to the love song, I feel like the car song is one of the most iconic kinds of songs in pop music, from Chuck Berry to the present. There was so much of that throughout it that I started thinking: "Oh, no, there’s too many references to cars on this record!" And then I thought, "No, that's good—people might think it’s a concept album.""


  1. You’ll Need A Backseat Driver
  2. The Surprise Knock
  3. Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
  4. Colossus Of Rhodes
  5. Higher Beams
  6. Dreamlike And On The Rush
  7. You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going
  8. Need Some Giants
  9. Opening Ceremony
  10. One Kind Of Solomon
  11. Leather On The Seat
"Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile" is out now. In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights is released 27 September via Collected Works / Concord Records. The New Pornographers play some shows in North America this autumn. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next