Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The Cinematic Orchestra Press Shot 2019 APPROVED LEAD

The Cinematic Orchestra announce first album in 12 years with lead track featuring Roots Manuva

15 January 2019, 14:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Cinematic Orchestra reunite with Roots Manuva for new single "A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life", and announce their first album in 12 years, To Believe.

It's been a couple of years since Jason Swinscoe and partner Dominic Smith shared new music. In 2016, they delivered "To Believe" with Moses Sumney, and have now returned with news of their first album in over a decade.

To announce their new record, The Cinematic Orchestra have shared a new single "A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life", which sees the link up with frequent collaborator and lyricist Roots Manuva. The artists originally linked up 17 years ago on "All Things to All Men".


  1. To Believe (feat. Moses Sumney)
  2. A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life (feat. Roots Manuva)
  3. Lessons
  4. Wait for Now/Leave The World (feat. Tawiah)
  5. The Workers of Art
  6. Zero One/This Fantasy (feat. Grey Reverend)
  7. A Promise (feat. Heidi Vogel)
"A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life" is out now. To Believe arrives 15 March via Ninja Tune. The Cinematic Orchestra will host a three-night residency at London's Roundhouse from 20-22 March. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next