Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

SHOPPING sign to FatCat, announce new LP WHY CHOOSE

10 July 2015, 13:30 | Written by Laurence Day

East London troubadours SHOPPING have announced a new deal with FatCat, and their new record WHY CHOOSE.

They've also teased the release with new single "Why Wait?".

Although it's their FatCat debut, it's not their first record ever - they released Consumer Complaints back in 2013 via their own Milk Records.

Talking about the new record, the trio said:

“We wanted WHY CHOOSE to have the same feel as our first album but with an even sharper edge. Our main focus was still to have fun and write some songs that would get people dancing but there is also a darker undertone to this record – mostly we are singing about rejection, frustration, fighting, fleeting relationships, wasting time and losing money but there is also a kind of wildness and fun – a liberated freak out of a shopping spree that we really hope people can identify with.”

WHY CHOOSE will be out via FatCat on 2 October. It has been recorded with Jamie Grier (who mastered and mixed their debut album) and Alan Douches.

Stream "Why Wait?" below, and then check out the LP's tracklist and the band's upcoming tour dates.


1. Wind Up
2. Take It Outside
3. Straight Lines
4. Time Wasted
5. Say It Once
6. Passing Through
7. Why Wait
8. Private Party
9. Sinking Feeling
10. I Have Decided
11. Knocking
12. 12345


11 - Dalston Music Festival, London
11 - The Montague Arms, London
24 - Sheffield City Centre
25 - Deer Shed Festival, Topcliffe
26 - Tramlines, Sheffield


1 - Village Underground, London w/ Ought
2 - Deaf Institute, Manchester w/ Ought
3 - Hare and Hounds, Birmingham w/ Ought
24 - Fiddler's Club, Bristol w/ ESG, Golden Teacher
26 - Oval Space, London w/ ESG, Golden Teacher


16 - Music Hall of Williamsburg, New York

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next