Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Sharon Van Etten teams up with Dinosaur Jr frontman to cover John Denver

07 March 2013, 09:26 | Written by Luke Morgan Britton

On 2 April, ATO will release a tribute album to late folk singer and activist John Denver, featuring the likes of My Morning Jacket, Kathleen Edwards and Dave Matthews.

Also among the star-studded guests on The Music Is You are Sharon Van Etten (pictured above) and Dinosaur Jr frontman J Mascis, who team up on a cover of ‘Prisoners’.

That track, the first to be unveiled from the collection, can be heard right now via Pitchfork.

Check out the record’s artwork and full tracklisting below:

1. My Morning Jacket – “Leaving on a Jet Plane”
2. Dave Matthews – “Take Me To Tomorrow”
3. Kathleen Edwards – “All of My Memories”
4. J Mascis and Sharon Van Etten – “Prisoners”
5. Train – “Sunshine On My Shoulders”
6. Old Crow Medicine Show – “Back Home Again”
7. Lucinda Williams – “This Old Guitar”
8. Amos Lee – “Some Days are Diamonds”
9. Allen Stone – “Rocky Mountain High”
10. Brett Dennen and Milow – “Annie’s Song”
11. Evan Dando – “Looking For Space”
12. Brandi Carlile and Emmylou Harris – “Take Me Home, Country Roads”
13. Blind Pilot – “The Eagle and The Hawk”
14. Mary Chapin Carpenter – “I Guess He’d Rather Be In Colorado”
15. Josh Ritter and Barnstar! – “Darcy Farrow”
16. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros – “Wooden Indian”

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next